thatsmyfullname

Pound Cake

In baking, cake on June 7, 2010 at 2:37 am

This is the first cake I’ve ever baked. Oh, not counting the cakes I made in SRT class (Sains Rumahtangga – Domestic Science) in school – a long, long, time ago, when I wasn’t interested in cooking or baking.

What intrigued me to make this was its name. Why is it called a pound cake? Is it because it’s so heavy (it’s really dense) you can pound someone unconscious with it? Highly unlikely. A quick check with google revealed that the original recipe used a pound (450 g) each of flour, butter, eggs and sugar. The measurements were kept simple for the benefit of people who couldn’t read, because it’s easy to remember.

The recipe I followed didn’t use similar proportions, so I have no idea what the original pound cake tastes like. I found mine too sweet, even after reducing the sugar (like I always do) by about 50 g. I didn’t dare go lesser because I learned the hard way that baking IS an exact science (refer to post on apple dumplings).

The cake is very dense, so just one small slice with a serving of fruit is filling enough for breakfast. I like having mine with black tea (clove tea is the best) to tone down the sweetness.

Shopping list: eggs, lemon juice, buttermilk or yogurt

From the pantry: butter, sugar, baking soda, vanilla extract

Hardware: cake mixer, cake pan, oven

Can I do it?: Sure, honey! Simple ingredients, easy steps. A very basic cake recipe.

Credits: Jennifer McCullen and I Like You – Hospitality Under the Influence by Amy Sedaris

Leave a Reply

