thatsmyfullname

Cinnamon and Walnut Buns

In baking, bread on October 21, 2010 at 2:25 am

Bad picture but nice taste! It was dark when I finished this and I didn't want to use the flash...

This was my first attempt at making bread from scratch. The first time I baked one was using a pre-mix. It was nothing to rave about. The process was more exciting than the taste. I’ve never seen yeast develop before, so it was a big thrill to see the dough take on that coral-like texture as it balloons up in size. And with all the kneading and punching, you really get physical with your food.

For this recipe, the dough looks normal, but the taste is phenomenal. Walnut on its own is not very nice (because of the slight bitter taste) but with bread, it adds bite and flavour. Cinnamon, well, it’s one of my favourite spices. Then there’s the grated orange zest (I used lemon too) that gives the bun a nice zing when you bite into it. There’s also orange juice in the icing.

The bun is rolled together with sugar. I don’t have a sweet tooth, so I substituted the caster sugar with soft brown sugar for a mellow sweetness. The combination of cinnamon, brown sugar and walnuts is a nice balance of spice, sweet and nutty texture.

My buns came out a bit on the hard side. I’m not sure if it’s supposed to. Maybe it’s because I didn’t use a mixer to knead the dough, add enough of the melted butter, or use bread/high protein flour. But I prefer it like that because, airy buns are like airheads to me – all fluff and no substance. And I was happy to have it for breakfast every day for over a week.

Shopping list: walnuts and orange

From the pantry: strong flour, yeast, caster sugar, icing sugar, warm milk, butter, eggs, ground cinnamon

Hardware: oven, baking tins, rolling pin

Can I do it?: Easy but time-consuming because you need to let the dough rise – twice!. And if you can’t shape the dough into a perfect rectangle, you’ll get rolls of different sizes when you cut it up.

Credit: Cook’s Kitchen Handbook & 500 Basic Recipes

  1. Sounds like some very yummy buns you got there. I like cinnamon too, with apple, chocolate drink . . . and warm doughnut (from a good recipe) coats in mixture of sugar and cinnamon is wonderful!

  2. sounds yummy but I think I’m too lazy to give a try…..looking forward to the next recipe!

Leave a Reply

