thatsmyfullname

Pitta-Bread Pizzas

In bread, vege on August 16, 2011 at 12:18 am

Pizza on a pitta! Voilà!

Since I started cooking with a mission, I find myself eating more dishes without meat. I’m discovering a whole new world of vegetables, where it isn’t a dish on its own, like stir-fried kailan or boiled cabbage (yuck!).

I’ve always loved vege, but never knew that it could make a meal interesting despite the absence of meat. Every meal had to have some sort of meat, seafood or egg.

This is a recipe so simple I couldn’t believe how good it tasted the first time I made it. In fact, I’ve even cooked it fresh (except for the potato which I boiled the night before) in the morning before I left for work. Just pop it into an airtight Tupperware and it’ll stay good for lunch.

The most interesting part of this recipe is the pizza on a pitta concept. Just cut the pitta into half, horizontally. Brush with olive oil on both sides, pop into the oven at 180 degrees celsius until golden brown and crispy (less than 10 minutes).

For the topping, stir-fry sliced peppers, cooked potato and rosemary. Then place everything onto the baked pitta, sprinkle with shaved Parmesan and heat up on a grill pan. That’s all.

Shopping list: pitta bread, red pepper, yellow pepper (frankly, any colour you fancy – they all taste almost the same), red potato (russet if you want something cheaper)

From the pantry: olive oil, salt, pepper, dried rosemary (if you don’t have fresh), Parmesan cheese

Hardware: oven, grill pan, pastry brush

Can I do it?: Oh yeah!

Tip: Experiment with other toppings. I want to try sundried tomatoes.

Credit: Cook’s Kitchen Handbook and 500 Basic Recipes edited by Carole Clements

  1. yay! a new recipe from you! this sounds easy to make…

  2. Yes it is. I can make this in the morning, before going to work. Just boil the potatoes the night before. Just stir-fry the vege and bake the pita bread. You can skip the grill step.

Leave a Reply

