thatsmyfullname

What to do with that grapefruit in the fridge – make grapefruit sorbet!

In Bill Granger, dessert, fruits on February 24, 2013 at 5:07 pm

grapefruit sorbet

When you live in a tropical country like I do, it’s always nice to have some sorbet in the freezer for hot, sunny days. It’s also a great dessert to follow heavy meals, when you want something to ease that sluggish feeling in your stomach.

The only snag is you need to anticipate when you want to have it, because it has to be ‘defrosted’ in the fridge for about an hour or two, depending on the container you use to store it (shallow/deep).

This is the second sorbet recipe I’ve tried, only because I happened to have some grapefruit in the fridge. It’s not readily available here and when I saw it at my regular fruit stall, I thought I’d give it a try, even though I did not fancy eating it raw.

This recipe calls for raw egg white, which I skipped when I first tried making lemon sorbet. I don’t think the egg white made a difference, so I may leave it out next time.

Shopping list: Grapefruit, egg white (optional)

From the pantry: Sugar

Hardware: Freezer, fridge, shallow metal tray, whisk

Can I do it?: Yes, if you have half a day to spare at home for the freezing of the mixture, taking it out and beating it – three times!

Tips: 1. Don’t strain the fibre of the fruit. It’s always nice to have some ‘bite’ to the sorbet.   2. Shallow metal tray is not a good idea if you end up spilling half the content before you reach the freezer. A freeze-proof plastic container with lid would be a better alternative.

Credit: Bills Sydney Food by Bill Granger

Leave a Reply

