thatsmyfullname

Slut’s spaghetti

In Nigella Lawson, pasta on March 24, 2013 at 3:58 pm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s nothing kinky about this recipe. It apparently is called such because a woman who has better things to do than grocery shopping could whip this up from items in her pantry. Not the case in Malaysia, as we don’t stock up on anchovies, capers or olives.

I tried this because I was curious about one of the ingredients – capers, pickled flower buds from the Mediterranean. I’ve never heard of it until a condo project in my neighbourhood bore this name. Curious, I hunted it down and found it at the ever reliable Hock Lee’s mini market. It comes in glass bottles and would be in the same section as where the olives are.

That bottle of capers remained in my pantry for a long time because I didn’t know what to do with them. I was told they go well with baked fish, but I don’t like the western style of cooking fish.

When I found this recipe, I had to try it. It’s easy and fast to make and you could pack leftovers for office lunches.

Shopping list: tomatoes, anchovies, dried chilli flakes, black olives, capers

From the pantry: spaghetti, olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper

Optional: parsley

Can I do it?: If a slut can do it, so can you. 

Tips: 1. If you don’t have dried chilli flakes, add anything else that can give your dish heat, like Tabasco sauce.   2. Get pitted olives if you can as deseeding then is a pain.   3. No need to follow the recipe to a tee. Cut down on the pasta so there’s more ingredients to go around.

Credit: Kitchen by Nigella Lawson. Full recipe here.

Leave a Reply

