thatsmyfullname

Ham tan sotong! (Salted egg yolk squid)

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

ham tan sotong

My first introduction to salted egg yolk squid is through a popular corner coffee shop in Lucky Garden, Bangsar that serves chu char for dinner. It’s a sinfully delicious dish, and quite addictive too. I thought I would have to drag someone there for dinner to get my fix, but now I can whip it up myself!

It’s not as difficult as I thought though there are several stages of cooking before I could pop the buttery delights into my mouth.

First, soak and chop dried prawns.

Second, steam the salted eggs, then mash the yolk.

Third, deep-fry squid coated in cornflour.

Fourth, fry the dried prawns, curry leaves, chilli and garlic.

Fifth, add butter, then mash salted egg yolk and stir until creamy.

Sixth, add squid and seasoning, toss around and it’s all done! Not so complicated, eh? Do this a few times and soon you won’t even need to refer to the recipe. The original recipe by Amy Beh is for prawns, but I used squid instead.

Shopping list: squid (or prawns, or both!), salted egg, dried prawns, curry leaves, bird’s eye chilli (or regular chilli)

From the pantry: cooking oil, cornflour, pepper, butter; and for seasoning – sugar, salt and chicken stock granules

Hardware: wok or deep frying pan

Can I do it?: Practice makes perfect!

Tip: None, but can you offer one on what to do with the leftover egg white? I’m not a fan of eating it just like that.

Credit: Amy Beh, StarTwo. Original recipe here.

Leave a Reply

