thatsmyfullname

Sausages with caramelised onions and parmesan mash

In baking, Bill Granger, pork on June 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Sausages with caramalised onions and parmesan mash

I have a neighbour who makes his own bacon and pork sausages. I’m not much of a bacon person. No matter how mouthwatering bacon sounds, I usually end up disappointed. Maybe it’s the dry texture. I prefer my meat moist, like my neighbour’s homemade sausages. None of the processed stuff of compacted meat and ‘other parts’, his contain minced meat that crumbles out when the casing bursts from the heat of the pan.

I’m usually quite lazy when it comes to sausages. Just fry with onions and eat with bread. But since I’m on a quest to try new recipes, it doesn’t hurt to have something more fancy once in a while.

The onions are baked in the oven with a drizzle of olive oil and vinegar, plus a sprinkle of sugar, chilli flakes, salt and pepper. The sausages are just fried while the mash is made with boiled potatoes, mashed and mixed with heated milk and butter, plus salt and pepper to taste.

Shopping list: sausages, desiree potatoes (or any red skin potato), milk, parmesan cheese (grated)

From the pantry: red onions, olive oil, soft brown sugar, butter, red wine vinegar or balsamic vinegar,  salt, black pepper

Hardware: oven, potato masher

Can I do it?: This is as easy as it gets.

Credit: Every Day by Bill Granger.

Tip: Use good quality sausages from the deli. If you’re using those cheap ones from the frozen section of the supermarket, you might as well order a hot dog from Ikea or neighbourhood Ramly Burger stall.  


Leave a comment